top of page

Who We Are


Lay Carmelites (Third Order Secular of the Order of the Brothers of the Blessed Virgin Mary of Mount Carmel) are Roman Catholic men and women, mostly laity, called to live a life of allegiance to Jesus Christ, in a contemplative attitude which fashions and supports our life of prayer, fraternity, and service.[1]





Some Carmelites have become an inspiration to countless others, and noted by the Church for their path to holiness. Currently, the Church recognises 3 doctors, 11 saints, and 23 blesseds from the Carmelite Orders. [2] Among these Carmelites are St. Mary Magdalen de’Pazzi, St. Teresa of Jesus, St. John of the Cross, St. Therese of the Child Jesus, St. Nuno Alvares Pereira, and Bl. Titus Brandsma. Well-known Carmelites of recent times include Sr. Lucy of Fatima and Bl. Pope John Paul II (a Carmelite tertiary).



[1] Joseph Chalmers (2003). Living the Carmelite Way. Part I, 7.31.

[2] Order of Carmelites (2012). Calendar.

"Come Lord Jesus" Icon by Sr. Mary Grace, O.C.D.
Reproduced by permission
bottom of page